Corporate Social Responsibility Committee

The Corporate Social Responsibility Committee was created in 2003 in response to a call from the General Assembly in Granada for the development of a social responsibility policy. The WLA Responsible Gaming Framework was established by this committee and adopted by the membership in Singapore in 2006. The Corporate Social Responsibility Committee manages the continuous development of the WLA Responsible Gaming Framework. They also oversee member accreditation to the Responsible Gaming Framework in accord with an Independent Assessment Panel (IAP) of CSR experts.


Sarah Taylor
Executive Director

Hoosier Lottery
1302 N. Meridian Street, Suite 100
IN 46202

+1 800 955 6886

Policy Group Members

  • Jan Karas, Chief Executive Officer, OPAP S.A., Greece

Expert Working Group Members

The WLA Working Group plays a vital role assisting both the WLA Corporate Responsibility Committee and the Independent Assessment Panel with the evolution and maintenance of the WLA's responsible gaming program.

African Representative

  • Omar Kadiri, Transformation Manager, La Marocaine des Jeux et des Sports (MDJS), Morocco

Asia Pacific Representatives

  • Kelly Bleakley, Senior Social Responsibility Manager, Lotto New Zealand, New Zealand
  • Tay Boon Khai, Head of Community Engagement and Responsible Gaming, Singapore Pools (Private) Limited, Singapore
  • Brian Uy, General Manager Beijing Office, HKJC Lotteries Limited, Hong Kong, China

European Representatives

  • Stefania Colombo, Global Sustainability Director, IGT Lottery, Italy
  • María Núñez García, Journalist, Press & Communications Secretary, SELAE, Spain
  • Vincent Perrotin, CSR Group Director, La Française des Jeux (FDJ), France

Latin America Representative

  • Sandra Conde Gomez de Freitas, General Manager, Banca de Cubierta Colectiva de Quinielas de Montevideo, Uruguay

North American Representative

  • Lou Ann Russell, Executive Vice-President, Marketing and Advertising, Tennessee Education Lottery Corporation, USA

Independent Assessment Panel

Submitting member lotteries will be certified to the WLA Responsible Gaming Framework (RGF) with the help of an independent assessment panel. This panel is comprised of a selection of international experts from the field of corporate social responsibility. As an independent body, the Responsible Gaming Independent Assessment Panel (RGIAP) will review all submissions for the RGF levels 2–4 and will forward their certification recommendations to the WLA. Through the knowledge and expertise of the RGIAP, the WLA has a reliable and competent partner to aid them in evaluating all submissions and to help them render a correct and precise decision on certification. Their suggestions will also help submitting lotteries to optimize and continually improve their responsible gaming programs.

Panel Responsibilities

  • Assess the information provided by the lottery.
  • Assess the quality of the assurance provided.
  • Designate the level the lottery has accomplished.
  • Give feedback to the lottery on their performance.

Panel Members

Jeffrey L. Derevensky, Ph.D.
Ann Pattberg
Dame Dianne Thompson
Jeffrey L. Derevensky, Ph.D.

Jeffrey L. Derevensky, Ph.D., is Professor Emeritus at McGill University, Montreal, Canada. He is a former James McGill Professor in School/Applied Child Psychology, Director of Clinical Training in School/Applied Child Psychology and Counselling Psychology, and Professor, Department of Psychiatry at McGill University. He is a clinical and research consultant to numerous hospitals, school boards, government agencies, and gaming and gambling corporations. He is member of the advisory board for the World Health Organization concerning behavioral addictions. Dr. Derevensky has published widely in the field of gambling studies, adolescence, behavioral addictions and developmental psychopathology for over 50 years. He is the author of more than 300 peer-reviewed journal articles, 65 book chapters and 4 books related to gambling disorders and behavioral addictions as well as being on the editorial board of a large number of journals. Dr. Derevensky has been awarded multiple international awards for his research, clinical, prevention and training initiatives including the Lifetime Achievement Awards from the National Council on Problem Gambling (U.S) and the International Center for Responsible Gaming. Dr. Derevensky is the Director of the McGill University Youth Gambling Research and Treatment Clinic and the International Centre for Youth Gambling Problems and High-Risk Behaviors. Dr. Derevensky and his team have helped governments establish research priorities and have been instrumental in the development of responsible gambling practices, treatment centers, prevention programs and public health and social policies internationally. He has testified before governmental bodies in the U.S., Canada, South America, Europe, Asia and Australasia and is considered an international expert in the field of youth gambling, gaming and behavioral addictions.

Ann Pattberg

Anne Pattberg is a long-time sustainability professional with broad experience and a record of successful cooperation with the lottery industry. From 2006 to 2011 she headed the sustainability department at Camelot Group plc, reporting direct to CEO Dianne Thompson. During that time she was also Chair of the European Lotteries Working Group on Responsible Gaming, and was instrumental in the development of both the WLA Responsible Gaming Framework and the EL Responsible Gaming Standard. After Camelot Anne worked for a number of years in a senior position at PwC Germany where she has advised DAX 30 and SME’s on sustainability issues and conducted a variety of assurance projects, also for many German lotteries. Since 2015 she owns her own Business PB Consulting GmbH and is continuously working with some of Germany’s largest companies on sustainability strategy, supply chain management topics, non-financial reporting etc. alongside her work as a chair for the WLA RG IAP.

Dame Dianne Thompson

Dame Dianne Thompson spent over 42 years in full-time executive life, holding marketing and general management roles in a variety of businesses, including ICI Paints, Sandvik, Signet and Woolworths. From 2000 to 2014, she was CEO of Camelot Group plc, the operator of the UK National Lottery. During that time, she was a trustee of a number of charities. She was awarded her Damehood in 2015 ‘for services to the National Lottery and charities’. Today, she is Non-Executive Chairman of Sanderson Design Group Ltd and a non-executive Director of Next plc and Pagefield Communications.